GORILLA TAKES A HIKE THROUGH THE URBAN FOREST IN QUASI’S OFFICIAL VIDEO FOR “NOWHERESVILLE”

Subpop – Sullen the Gorilla takes a solitary hike through “Nowheresville,” the official video and new single from Quasi’s Breaking the Balls of History, the duo’s tenth-album and label debut for Sub Pop.

Breaking the Balls of History will be available on CD/LP/CS/DSPs on February 10th, 2023. The album features twelve-tracks and was produced by Quasi and John Goodmanson (Sleater-Kinney, Bikini Kill, Unwound, Treepeople, Team Dresch) at Rob Lang Studios in Seattle, engineered and mixed by Goodmanson, and mastered by Bill Skibbe at Third Man Mastering.

Quasi is supporting Breaking the Balls of History with a headlining U.S. tour hat begins on the album’s release day, Friday, February 10th in Boise, ID at Neurolux and ends Tuesday, March 28th in Pittsburgh, PA at Club Cafe. The tour will feature support (select dates) from the likes of Yuvees (Feb. 10th-20th), No. 2 (Mar. 2nd-4th), Shaylee (Mar. 4th), and Bat Fangs (Mar. 14th-28th). Tickets for these shows are on sale now. Dates below.

 

Fri. Feb. 10 – Boise, ID – Neurolux ^
Sat. Feb. 11 – Salt Lake City, UT – Kilby Court ^
Mon. Feb. 13 – Albuquerque, NM – Sister ^
Wed. Feb. 15 – San Antonio, TX – Paper Tiger ^
Thu. Feb. 16 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall ^
Fri. Feb. 17 – Austin, TX – The Parish ^
Sat. Feb. 18 – Dallas, TX – Club Dada ^
Mon. Feb. 20 – El Paso, TX – Lowbrow Palace ^
Wed. Feb. 22 – Phoenix, AZ – Rebel Lounge
Thu. Feb. 23 – Pioneertown, CA – Pappy and Harriet’s
Fri. Feb. 24 – Los Angeles, CA – Zebulon
Sat. Feb. 25 – Oakland, CA – Starline Social Club
Sun. Feb. 26 – Sacramento, CA – Starlet Room
Thu. Mar. 02 – Vancouver, BC – Fox Cabaret #
Fri. Mar. 03 – Seattle, WA – Tractor Tavern #
Sat. Mar. 04 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge # !
Tue. Mar. 14 -Boston, MA – The Sinclair %
Wed. Mar. 15 – Kingston, NY – Tubby’s %
Thu. Mar. 16 – Ridgewood, NY – TV Eye %
Fri. Mar. 17 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s %
Sun. Mar. 19 – Durham, NC – The Pinhook %
Tue. Mar. 21 – Atlanta, GA – 529 %
Wed. Mar. 22 – Birmingham, AL – Saturn %
Thu. Mar. 23 – Nashville, TN – Blue Room at Third Man Records %
Fri. Mar. 24 – St. Louis, MO –  Off-Broadway %
Sat. Mar. 25 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle %
Sun. Mar. 26 – Columbus, OH – Ace of Cups %
Mon. Mar. 27 – Detroit, MI – Third Man Records %
Tue. Mar. 28 – Pittsburgh, PA – Club Cafe %

^ w/ Yuvees
* w/ Hurry Up!
# w/ No.2
! w/ Shaylee
% w/ Bat Fangs

Quasi’s Breaking the Balls of History, featuring the aforementioned “Nowheresville,” along with the official videos for “Doomscrollers” and “Queen of Ears,” is seeing early praise from the likes of Brooklyn Vegan, who say, “[Queen Of Ears] Has all the Quasi earmarks: pointed lyrics, jagged melodies, skronky organ, bashing drums, and Sam & Janet’s distinctive harmonies.” Stereogum says “Lead single “Queen Of Ears” finds Coomes and Weiss bashing away on their keyboard and drums, respectively, lending a raw edge to an otherwise bright and poppy song. The backing vocals are clutch on this one.” Meanwhile, of “Doomscrollers,” MOJO offers this  “Janet Weiss and Sam Coomes here switch on all their chaotic McCartney/Malkmus energy for a state-of-the-planet address.” Finally, Shindig! calls “Doomscrollers” “A punchy blend of state-of-things stream of consciousness and melodic brightness signals the much-awaited return of Pacific Northwest legends Quasi.” Breaking the Balls of History, was included in Pitchfork’s “The 34 Most Anticipated Releases for 2023” (see January 9th story).

Breaking the Balls of History can be preordered now from Sub Pop. LP preorders from megamart.subpop.com and select independent retailers in North Americathe UK, and Europe will receive the limited Loser edition on pink vinyl.

 

Reposted from subpop.com

%d bloggers like this: